Our History

 
 
The former Edgemont Baptist Church in downtown Durham circa 1940

Edgewood Baptist Church was planted in Durham May 25, 1902. The church was originally named Edgemont Baptist Church as it was located in the Edgemont section of the city. The original church building was located on the corner of East Main and Elm Street in downtown Durham. There were twenty-two charter members.

After the original wooden frame building was destroyed by fire, the church built the building that housed the church from 1915 to 1989. During this time, the church grew and many people came to Christ. 

In 1989 the church relocated to Wake Forest Highway in Durham. Due to the relocation from the Edgemont community, the church’s name was changed to Edgewood. This name change served as bridge connecting the church’s historic past in downtown Durham with it present and future ministry.

In 2006, God opened an exciting new door of ministry for Edgewood by leading the church to purchase a new facility in north Durham. Through the acquisition of the facility, Edgewood and the former Three Rivers Baptist Church merged together.

Edgewood Baptist Church has faithfully served the Lord for more than 110 years. Rooted in its rich history, Edgewood continues to carry out the mission and vision of its original members through ministries which are Christ centered and people focused.